Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Visa-free countries for Philippine passport holders

Philippine passport holders can visit 58 destinations without the need to secure a visa before arrival according to the 2013 Henley & Partners Visa Restriction Index. Add the new visa-free access to Myanmar, that brings it to a total of 59 destinations where Philippine passport holders can enter visa-free.

There however seems to be conflicting reports as to which countries and destinations are actually included as well as the length of visa-free access. In fact, there are more than 59 in the list below. I've personally experienced that the length of visa-free access for some South American countries published online are not accurate and are shorter than stated. Length may also vary depending on your port of entry. Some countries give longer visa-free stays for airport arrivals versus land border crossings.

In all cases, make sure to verify with the diplomatic post (embassy or consulate) of the country since policies may change. For example, Philippine passport holders can no longer enter Kosovo without a visa as of July 1, 2013.

The following countries and territories allow visa-free access to Philippine passport holders traveling for tourism purposes:
Bolivia (30 days)
Brazil (90 days)
Brunei (14 days)
Cambodia (21 days)
Cook Islands (31 days)
Costa Rica (30 days)
Dominica (21 days)
Ecuador (90 days)
Fiji (4 months)
Gambia (90 days with prior approval from Gambian Immigration)
Haiti (3 months)
Hong Kong (14 days)
Indonesia (30 days)
Israel (3 months)
Laos (30 days)
Macau (30 days)
Malaysia (30 days)
Mongolia (21 days)
Morocco (90 days)
Myanmar (14 days)
Niue (30 days)
Peru (60 days)
St. Vincent and the Grenadines (1 month)
Singapore (30 days)
Suriname (90 days)
Thailand (30 days at airport; 15 days at border crossing)
Vanuatu (30 days)
Vietnam (21 days)

The following countries and territories grant visa on arrival to Philippine passport holders. Make sure to check for requirements with the embassy or consulate of the country:
Armenia (E-visa can be obtained through website; 120 days)
Burundi (30 days at Bujumbura International Airport)
Cape Verde
India (E-visa required)
Iran (E-visa pre-approval code obtained via e-mail from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and arriving at Chah-Bahar, Qeshm, Kish, Mashad, Esfahan, Shiraz, Tabriz and Tehran)
Kyrgyzstan (30 days)
Madagascar (90 days)
Maldives (30 days)
Marshall Islands
Mauritania (at Nouakchott Airport)
Nepal (See Nepal visa on arrival instructions)
Palau (30 days; proof of sufficient funds, at least US$200 per week)
Papua New Guinea (60 days)
Sri Lanka (must secure Electronic Travel Authorization)
Saint Lucia (6 weeks)
Samoa (Entry Permit on arrival; 60 days)
Seychelles (Visitor's Permit on arrival; 1 month)
Somalia (pre-submitted invitation letter required; 30 days)
Tajikistan (45 days)
Timor-Leste (30 days; US$30 visa fee)
Togo (7 days)
Turkmenistan (to be arranged by tour company registered in Turkmenistan)
Tuvalu (1 month)
Zambia (90 days)

The following countries and territories allow visa-free access to Philippine passport holders traveling for on cruise liners:
Bahamas (only for cruise ship passengers; entry and exit must be by cruise ship)
St. Kitts and Nevis (if stay is less than 24 hours)
Aruba (if stay is less than 48 hours)
Bonaire (if stay is less than 48 hours)
Curaçao (if stay is less than 48 hours)
Saba (if stay is less than 48 hours)
St. Eustatius (if stay is less than 48 hours)
St. Maarten (if stay is less than 48 hours)

Some countries also allow conditional visa exemption to Philippine passport holders provided they have valid visas to other countries. Valid means it's a multiple entry visa that has not expired. For European countries that allow visa-free access on a Schengen visa, take note that since they are out of the Schengen area, you will require a multiple-entry Schengen visa to reenter the Schengen area. Countries that give conditional visa exemption with valid visas to countries in parenthesis include:
Albania (Schengen, type C or D only, US, UK)
Andorra (Schengen)
Antigua and Barbuda (US, Canada, Schengen, UK)
Bosnia and Herzegovina (Schengen)
Bulgaria (Schengen)
Croatia (Schengen)
Cyprus (Schengen)
Dominican Republic (Canada, US, Schengen)
El Salvador (Canada, US, Schengen)
Guatemala (Canada, US, Schengen)
Honduras (Canada, US, Schengen)
Mexico (US)
Macedonia (Schengen with approval from Ministry of Interior)
Montenegro (Ireland, Schengen, UK, US)
Nicaragua (Canada, US, Schengen)
Romania (Schengen)
Taiwan (Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Schengen, UK, US but must secure Online Travel Authority)

Here is how to apply for a Schengen visa in the Philippines and how to apply for a British visa in the Philippines.

China allows visa-free access to Hainan for Philippine passport holders who are part of a tour group organized by an accredited tour company based in Hainan. China also allows visitors to Hong Kong and Macau visa-free access to the Pearl Delta River (Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Foshan, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Jiangmen, Zhaoqing, Huizhou and Shantou) provided you are part of a tour group organized by a Hong Kong or Macau-based travel agency and tour is six days or less.

For the rest of China, here's how to apply for a Chinese visa in the Philippines.

South Korea allows visa-free access to Jeju Island only for stays of 30 days or less.

For the rest of South Korea, here's how to apply for a South Korean visa in the Philippines.

Jordan is said to grant visa-free entry through Aqaba provided you leave the from the same border and within 30 days or less.

The following countries grant online visa applications: Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and São Tomé and Príncipe

Again, in all cases, make sure to verify with the diplomatic post (embassy or consulate) of the country since policies may change. This list was created to help travelers plan their trips and we will not be responsible if you are denied entry in a country for not having the necessary requirements. Happy trip!

Pag wala po la listahan, malamang kailangan ng visa. Dahil maraming insidente ng TNT sa mga Pinoy, kailangan natin ng visa para makapasok sa karamihan ng mga bansa. Ito ay para mapigilan ang ilegal na pagtrabaho sa mga bansa nila. Kung gusto niyo magtrabaho sa ibang bansa, kumuha kayo ng tamang "work visa" at siguraduhing maayos ang mga papeles bago umalis ng Pilipinas.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails