Friday, April 01, 2005

National Parks and other Protected Areas

UNESCO World Heritage Sites
1. Tubbataha Reef Marine Park
2. Puerto-Princesa Subterranean River National Park

Related links
UNESCO World Heritage List

Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar List)

1. Agusan Marsh Wildlife Sanctuary (Mindanao)
2. Naujan Lake National Park (Oriental Mindoro)
3. Olango Island Wildlife Sanctuary (Cebu)
4. Tubbataha Reefs National Marine Park (Sulu Sea)

Related links
Ramsar Convention on Wetlands

Society for the Conservation of Philippine Wetlands

Summary of Conservation Areas

The following is a brief summary of the protected areas known to be presently operational or in the process of being established. A complete list is found in the website of the Protected Areas and Wildlife Bureau. See related links below.

Bataan National Park
Batanes Protected Landscapes and Seascapes
Bulusan Volcano National Park (Sorsogon)
Hundred Islands National Recreation Area (Pangasinan)
Mayon Volcano National Park (Albay)
Mt. Arayat National Recreation Area (Pampanga)
Mt. Banahaw National Park (Laguna and Quezon)
Mt. Data National Park (Mountain Province)
Mt. Isarog National Park (Camarines Sur)
Mt. Makiling Forest Reserve (Laguna and Batangas)
Mt. Pulag National Park (Benguet, Nueva Vizcaya and Ifugao)
Northern Sierra Madre Natural Park (Isabela)
Quezon National Park
Subic Watershed Forest Reserve (Bataan and Zambales)
Taal Volcano National Park (Batangas)

Apo Reef Marine Natural Park (Occidental Mindoro)
Mt. Calavite National Park (Occidental Mindoro)
Mt. Malasimbo Biosphere Reserve (Oriental Mindoro)
Mts. Iglit-Baco National Park (Occidental and Oriental Mindoro)
Naujan Lake National Park (Oriental Mindoro)
Puerto Galera Marine Reserve (Oriental Mindoro)
Sablayan Watershed Forest (Occidental Mindoro)

Western and Central Visayas
Apo Island Protected Landscape and Seascape (Negros Oriental)
Central Cebu National Park
Danjugan Island Marine Reserve and Wildlife Sanctuary (Negros Occidental)
Mt. Guiting Guiting Natural Park (Romblon)
Mt. Kanlaon Natural Park (Negros Occidental and Oriental)
Northern Negros Forest Reserve (Negros Occidental and Oriental)
Olango Wildlife Sanctuary (Cebu)
Pescador Island Marine Reserve (Cebu)
Southern Negros Forest Reserve (Negros Oriental)
Taklong Island Marine Reserve (Guimaras)

Eastern Visayas and Mindanao
Agusan Marsh Wildlife Sanctuary (Agusan del Sur)
Balicasag Island Marine Reserve (Bohol)
Mt. Apo Natural Park (Davao City, Davao del Sur and North Cotabato)
Mt. Kitanglad Range Natural Park (Bukidnon)
Mt. Malindang National Park (Misamis Occidental)
Pamilacan Island Marine Reserve (Bohol)
Rajah Sikatuna National Park (Bohol)
Siargao Island Protected Landscapes and Seasapes (Surigao del Norte)
Sohoton National Park (Western Samar)
Turtle Island Wildlife Sanctuary (Tawi-Tawi)

Calauit Island Wildlife Sanctuary
Coron Island
El Nido Marine Reserve
Malampaya Sound
St. Paul's Underground River National Park
Tubbataha Reef National Park
Ursula Island Wildlife Sanctuary

National Integrated Protected Areas System (NIPAS)

Ilocos Region
Lidlidda Protected Landscape (Ilocos Sur)
Agoo-Damortis Protected Landscape and Seascape (La Union)
Libunao Protected Landscape (Ilocos Sur)
Bigbiga Protected Landscape (Ilocos Sur)
Sta. Lucia Protected Landscape (Ilocos Sur)
Bessang Pass Natural Monument (Ilocos Sur)

Cagayan Valley
PeƱablanca Protected Landscape (Cagayan)
Magapit Protected Landscape (Cagayan)
Casecnan Protected Landscape (Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino and Aurora)
Batanes Protected Landscape and Seascape (Batanes)
Northern Sierra Madre Natural Park (Isabela)
Salinas Natural Monument (Nueva Vizcaya)
Palaui Island Marine Reserve

Central Luzon
Roosevelt Protected Landscape (Bataan)
Masinloc and Oyon Bays MArine Reserve (Zambales)
Simbahan-Talagas Protected Landscape (Aurora)
Amro River Protected Landscape (Aurora)
Dinadiawan River Protected Landscape (Aurora)
Talaytay Protected Landscape (Aurora)

Southern Tagalog (Calabarzon)
Taal Volcano Protected Landscape (Batangas)
Buenavista Protected Landscape (Quezon)
Maulawin Spring Protected Landscape (Quezon)
Pamitinan Protected Landscape (Rizal)
Hinulugang Taktak Protected Landscape (Rizal)

Southern Tagalog (Mimaro)
Mt. Guiting-Guiting Natural Park (Romblon)
Apo Reef Natural Park (Occidental Mindoro)
Mt. Calavite Wildlife Sanctuary (Occidental Mindoro)

Bicol Region
Chico Island Wildlife Sanctuary (Masbate)
Naro Island Wildlife Sanctuary (Masbate)
Malabungot Protected Landscape and Seascape (Camarines Sur)
Lagonoy Natural Biotic Area (Camarines Sur)
Abasig-Matogdon Mananap Natural Biotic Area (Camrines Norte)
Mount Isarog Natural Park (Camarines Sur)
Bongsalay Natural Park (Masbate)
Bicol Natural Park (Camarines Sur)
Mayon Volcano Natural Park (Albay)
Bulusan Volcano Natural Park (Sorsogon)

Western Visayas
Canlaon Natural Park (Negros Occidental and Oriental)
Simbalom Natural Park (Antique)
Sagay Protected Lanscape and Seascape (Negros Occidental)
Northwest Panay Peninsula Natural Park (Antique)
Puerto Princesa Subterranean River Natural Park (Palawan)
El Nido Managed Resource Protected Area (Palawan)
Malampaya Sound Prtected Landscape and Seascape (Palawan)

Related links
Biodiversity Clearing House Mechanism

Protected Areas and Wildlife Bureau

National Geological Momuments

Chocolate Hills (Bohol)
Hundred Islands (Pangasinan)
Ilocos Norte Sand Dunes
Montalban Gorge (Rizal)
St. Paul Limestone Formation (Palawan)
Taal Volcano (Batangas)

Related links
Mines and Geosciences Bureau
National Committee on Geological Sciences

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails