Monday, May 17, 2010

Index of Declared Structures and Sites updated 05/17/2010

As you all know, I've compiled a list of structures and sites declared by law or by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), National Historical Institute (NHI), or National Museum (NM). And as new sites and structures are declared, I update the list. Today, we got the latest list from the NHI.

The additions to the list include new National Historical LandmarksChurch, Convent and Site of the Beaterio of Sabtang (Sabtang, Batanes), Church of Ivana (Ivana, Batanes), Mansion House (Baguio City), Surrender Site of General Tomuyuki Yamashita (Kiangan, Ifugao), Birthplace of Gregorio del Pilar (Bulacan, Bulacan), Site of the Battle of Imus (Imus, Cavite), Sta. Cruz Parish Convent (Tanza, Cavite), Tayabas Provincial Capitol Building (Tayabas, Quezon), Old Iloilo City Hall (Iloilo City), Cebu Provincial Capitol (Cebu City), Leyte Provincial Capitol (Tacloban, Leyte), Church of Dauis and its Complex (Dauis, Bohol) and Punta Cruz Watchtower (Punta Cruz, Bohol); and Heritage HousesGala-Rodriguez House (Sariaya, Quezon), Natalio Enriquez House (Sariaya, Quezon), Rodriguez House (Sariaya, Quezon), Sarayba House (Gen. Trias, Cavite), Casa Narvas (Boac, Marinduque), Balay na Tisa Heritage House (Carcar, Cebu), Mercado Mansion Heritage House (Carcar, Cebu), Sa Dakong Balay / Don Florencio Noel House (Carcar, Cebu), Silva House Heritage House (Carcar, Cebu) and the President Carlos P. Garcia Heritage House (Tagbilaran, Bohol). The Jose Rizal Monument in Daet, Camarines Norte was declared a National Monument.

Next update when we get the latest declarations from the National Museum. With the recently enacted Republic Act No. 10066 - National Cultural Heritage Act of 2009, even marked sites, works of National Artists for Architecture, and all structures fifty years and older are presumed to be Important Cultural Properties unless otherwise declared by the NHI, NM or NCCA. So we'll compile a list of marked sites and structures as well.

Section 15 of R.A. 10066 states, "All intervention works and measures on conservation of National Cultural Treasures, Important Cultural Property, as well as national historical landmarks, sites or monuments, and structures previously marked by the National Museum and/or National Historical Institute before the implementation of this Act shall be undertaken only upon prior approval of the Commission through the appropriate cultural agency which shall supervise the same."

"The Commission shall approve only those methods and materials that strictly adhere to the accepted international standards of conservation."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails